Garrard is the longest serving jewellery house in the world. Its origins can be traced back to 1735, when master silversmith George Wicks opened a store on Panton Street in the heart of London’s West End. A year later the firm received its first royal commission from Fredrick, Prince of Wales.
His order marked the beginning of a long and fruitful relationship, which reached its apogee in 1843 when Garrard was appointed Crown Jeweller. Over the years, the firm has handcrafted tiaras, necklaces, brooches and many more magnificent jewels that are still worn by the royal family.
Today Garrard calls Mayfair its home. A visit to 24 Albemarle Street brings the opportunity not simply to browse its collections, but also to experience history at first hand. The building has witnessed many moments of note, including the creation and presentation of Queen Mary’s consort crown in 1911, and jewellery continues to be made and fitted on site.
The development of every design is about achieving a balance between tradition and design so as to bring out the natural beauty of stone or precious metal. As a result, each piece of jewellery bears Garrard’s quintessentially British hallmark of heritage, detail and craft.